Posted by Bob Heck on Jun 15, 2020
Rotary Club of Olympia
The Wheel
Today’s Program: OHS Senior Scholarship Awards
Meeting Called to order: President Colleen @ 12:05 pm
  • Invocation by: Christina Daniels – “The Caged Bird” by Maya Angelou
  • Pledge of Allegiance led by: President Colleen
  • Song: NA
  • Four Way Test led by: NA
Visiting Rotarians
Guests of Rotarians
OHS Senior award recipients and their guests.
Reminder: Please feel free to use the chat feature to share good news, as well as happy bucks.
Reminder - no increase next year (woohoo!). Your club dues are due July 1, if not paid by Aug 15 - $50 late fee, if not paid by Sept 15, another $50 late fee. Please contact President Colleen or President-Elect Sean if you are unable to meet your dues commitment, the club wants to work with you!
Polio Plus
There is now a push to raise as much as possible toward the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation matching challenge.
Volunteers Needed
Volunteers are needed June 23 at 10:00 am at Family Education and Support Services to create activity kits for kids and families. Two more volunteers are needed to join President Colleen, Christy Peters, and Jim Larson. To sign up and get further details, please email Colleen.
Club Meetings
We anticipate that in-person meetings will resume with a limit of 50 club members, or 5-6/table. The club leadership is working with our venue and Elyse’s Catering to ensure we can move forward with in-person meetings in a safe way, following all healthcare guidelines.
Jim Balz
Will send in a check for his birthday, and is pleased to see/know the award recipients of the Balz awards this year.  He gave kudos to Lily and shared his experience as a student of Les Armstrong and as a contemporary of Chick Rockey. He also graduated OHS with Ed Rogel, Jr.
Program: OHS Senior Scholarship Awards
Mark Boyer, Chair of the Scholarship Committee, introduced the process used this year to award the numerous club scholarships to seniors attending Olympia High School. Mark has led the committee for about 5-6 years and has done a great job managing the annual process that now awards nearly $30,000 annually. Members of the committee include Christy Peters, Larry Poplack, Jen Boelts, Micki Holden-Cooper, Whitney Holm, Sean Padget, Skip Steffen, Kyle Cronk, Gloria Strait, President Colleen Gillespie, Renetta Wilson, John Clees, Amanda Walker, Tanya Mote, Sarah Clinton, and Bob Heck. The committee reviewed the applications (thank you Jen for your work screening/collecting these) and then, based on the award criteria, the committee selected each recipient(s). A big thank you to Sarah Clinton for putting the award slideshow together.
Les Armstrong Music Award (two awards given)
Awarded to Moira Rader Rice who will be attending the University of British Columbia and will focus on becoming a music therapist, she primarily plays the oboe. She was joined by her mom.
Awarded to Jonathan Holder who will be attending Whitworth College where he will play trumpet. Jonathan’s dad (Keith Holder), who also plays the trumpet, is a former band director at OHS and also received the Les Armstrong Music Award. In addition to music, Jonathan also has an interest in becoming a speech pathologist.
Betty Ann Balz Nursing Scholarship
Awarded to Chunhui Lin who will be attending Pacific Lutheran University, where she has been accepted into their nursing program. Her goal is to become a labor and delivery nurse.
Firestone, Beal, Balz Engineering Award
Awarded to Jacob Balikov who will be attending CalPoly, where he will major in Physics to focus on quantum computing. He has always been interested in answering the question “how things work,” especially computers.
L.P. Brown “Service Above Self” Award (two awards given)
Awarded to Lily Storbeck, who serves as Co-President of the OHS Interact Club. She will be attending Western Washington University in their honors program to focus on environmental science.
Awarded to Andrew Liu who will be attending the State University of New York where he has been accepted into their very competitive 8-year dual degree program. He’ll earn a BS and then medical degree. He was joined by his parents.
David W. Stevens Memorial Scholarship
Awarded to Chandler Sam who serves as the current OHS student body president, he will be attending George Washington University. He would like to intern with the US Congress or Department of State. After earning his undergraduate degree, he plans to pursue a law degree, ideally on the east coast.
Winnifred Castle Olsen Scholarship
Awarded to Vy Lang who will be attending the University of Washington. She will pursue the pre-med undergraduate program because of her interest in healthcare. She shared about her appreciation to the club and her own commitment to service.
Chick Rockey Athletic Award (two awards given)
Awarded to Dahlia Scher who will attend UC San Diego. She shared how thrilled she is to receive this award. She was joined by her mom.
Awarded to Michael Came who will be attending Vasser where he will double major in computer science and math as well as play baseball. He is joined today by his parents and two grandmas.
Ed Rogel Vocational Award (two awards given)
Awarded to Megan Tressler who will be attending Washington State University. She will pursue the nursing undergraduate program and then go on to get her masters in nursing. Her mom, who has passed, was a nurse and is the reason why Megan wants to be a nurse and attend WSU.
Awarded to Adam Bui who will be attending Western Washington University. He will pursue a degree in graphic design. Since getting exposure to design programs at school, he has found a passion for the work and looks forward to continuing his education.
Meeting Adjourned: 1:08pm by President Colleen